U.S. Department of Justice, Office Of Justice Programs, Innovation - Partnerships - Safer Neighborhoods
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, Working for Youth Justice and Safety
OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book logo jump over products navigation bar
OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book logoAbout SSBFrequently Asked QuestionsPublicationsData Analysis ToolsNational Data SetsOther ResourcesAsk a Question
Juvenile Population Characteristics
Juveniles as Victims
Juveniles as Offenders
Juvenile Justice System Structure & Process
Overview
Related FAQs
Related Publications
Related Links
Case Flow Diagram
Law Enforcement & Juvenile Crime
Juveniles in Court
Juveniles on Probation
Juveniles in Corrections
Juvenile Reentry & Aftercare
Statistical Briefing Book Home

OJJDP logo

Printer-priendlyPrinter-friendly
Juveniled Justice System Structure & Process
JJDPA Core Requirements
Q: How do state statutes align with the JJDPA core requirement of removal of juveniles from adult jails?
A: Nine (9) states address this core requirement through statutes that never allow juveniles to be detained or confined in adult jails or lockups. Thirty-three (33) states explicitly address one or both of the allowed exceptions in statute.

Jail removal, 2012

State Never allows juveniles
to be detained or confined
in adult jails or lockups
Aligns with
"6 hour exception"
Aligns with
"rural exception"

Number of states 9 32 22

Alabama X X
Alaska X X
Arizona X

Arkansas X X
California X X
Colorado X

Connecticut X
Delaware
District of Columbia

Florida
Georgia X X
Hawaii X X

Idaho
Illinois X X
Indiana X

Iowa X X
Kansas X
Kentucky X X

Louisiana X X
Maine X X
Maryland X

Massachusetts X
Michigan
Minnesota X X

Mississippi X X
Missouri X
Montana X X

Nebraska X X
Nevada X X
New Hampshire X X

New Jersey X
New Mexico
New York X

North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio X

Oklahoma X X
Oregon X
Pennsylvania X

Rhode Island X
South Carolina X
South Dakota X X

Tennessee X
Texas X X
Utah X

Vermont
Virginia X
Washington X X

West Virginia X
Wisconsin X
Wyoming X

Note: An "X" in a column denotes that the state explicitly addresses the JJDPA core requirement of jail removal and/or the allowed exceptions in statute. Note that states that address the exceptions in statute may have shorter specified time periods than those allowed in the JJDPA. States that do not have an "X" may have practices that are aligned with the JJDPA; however these practices are not explicitly addressed in statute.

  • The JJDPA states that a juvenile shall not be detained or confined in an adult jail or lockup. Two key exceptions includes a 6 hour period for processing, release, or court appearance, and an exception in rural areas for geographic or transportation safety reasons (requires prior approval from OJJDP).

Internet citation: OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book. Online. Available: http://www.ojjdp.gov/ojstatbb/structure_process/qa04305.asp?qaDate=2012. Released on September 24, 2013.

Developed for the State Training and Technical Assistance Center by the National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ), with funding from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. The following NCJJ staff contributed to this state profile: Sean Addie, Teri Deal, Kathy Firestine, Anne Fromknecht, Hunter Hurst, Anne Rackow, Crystal Robson, Lauren Vessels, and Andrew Wachter.

 

USA.gov | Privacy | Policies & Disclaimers | FOIA | Site Map | Ask a Question | OJJDP Home
A component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice